Largest cities

These are the largest cities in Cuba, listed in descending order. Beside each city in the list below is the population, with the population of the urban area in parentheses if applicable. All figures are accurate as of 2003.

Other cities

These cities are not among the largest of Cuba, but are notable for other reasons.

  • Morón, 53,551 (second city in the Ciego de Avila Province)
  • Nueva Gerona, 46,923 (Capital of the Isle of Youth Special Municipality)
  • Contramaestre, 44,752
  • Colón, 44,520
  • Artemisa, 43,427 (Capital of the new Artemisa Province, 2011)
  • Güines, 42,801 (most populated city of the new Mayabeque Province, 2011)
  • Sagua La Grande, 41,756 (second city of the Villa Clara Province)
  • Trinidad, 41,293 (second city of the Sancti Spiritus Province, historical city, one of the seven initial towns in Cuba, tourist attraction)
  • Placetas, 40,982
  • Baracoa, 39,190 (The second most populated city in Guantanamo Province, the first town founded in Cuba by Spaniards)
  • Nuevitas, 38,995 (important industrial city and port in Camaguey)
  • San José de las Lajas, 33233 (capital of the new Mayabeque Province, 2011)
  • Mayarí, 29,027